Betting On The Super Bowl MVP

Super Bowl MVPBetting on the Super Bowl MVP is one of the most common bets to come out of the sports betting frenzy that is Super Bowl Sunday. It’s easy for everyone to understand what you’re betting on here, no spreads required. Super Bowl MVP betting odds are very straightforward. You place the bet on an individual player, handicapped by his likelihood of winning the award.

Quarterbacks are often favored as to win the award, as they have the ball in their hands the most and are rewarded with being the face of their franchise. Still, sports bettors can win larger sums of money when taking a longshot for the Super Bowl MVP. No matter who wins the award, other prop bets exist regarding this award. Before the winner is decided, bettors can wager on who the award winner will thank first and more. But for the Super Bowl MVP award itself, the smart idea is to look at the quarterbacks.

What Are The Super Bowl MVP Odds?

The Super Bowl MVP odds have been released, and Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes (+110) leads, for obvious reasons. Mahomes is one of if not the most talented young players in the league and is perhaps the best quarterback playing. Quarterbacks are overwhelmingly likely to be the Super Bowl MVP, as they tend to be the most important players on each team.

Mahomes is followed by Jimmy Garoppolo (+290), the San Francisco 49ers quarterback. Garoppolo has played an incredibly limited role in the two playoff victories that the 49ers have had this season, but given that he is a quarterback, and the Super Bowl MVP tends to go to the quarterback of the winning team, Garoppolo is a safe bet.

Garoppolo has not been the focal point of the 49ers’ offense in the playoffs, however, as he has been very limited in terms of what they ask him to do. Garoppolo has only attempted 27 passes in the two playoff games he’s played in, often handing the ball off to running backs Tevin Coleman (+6600) and Raheem Mostert (+450). Coleman is questionable to play after an injury sidelined him, meaning that Mostert – who scored four touchdowns in the NFC Championship Game – is the third favorite to win the Super Bowl MVP. Other favorites to win the Super Bowl MVP include:

  • Nick Bosa (SF) +900
  • George Kittle (SF) +1000
  • Travis Kelce (KC) +2000
  • Tyreek Hill (KC) +2000
  • Deebo Samuel (SF) +2800
  • Damien Williams (KC) +3000
  • Richard Sherman (SF) +5000
  • Sammy Watkins (KC) +5000

Where Can I Bet On The Super Bowl MVP?

If you are in a state wherein sports betting is legalized and the framework of sports betting has been instituted by said state, you should be able to bet on the Super Bowl MVP race at any of your state-licensed sportsbooks. You can supplement the state-licensed books with the offshore sportsbooks in order to shop lines, or just to have access to more bets.

If you are not in a state with state-sanctioned sports betting, don’t worry – you can use any of the offshore online sportsbooks  such as Bovada or MyBookie to place any number of interesting bets that you need to. The offshore sites are a good tool for those in states with state-sanctioned books as well because they tend to be able to offer odds with no restrictions, and the sheer variety of them all helps sports bettors in terms of access to various lines to choose between. Shopping lines is very important, and having alternate books available makes it easy.

Super Bowl MVPs That Were Not Quarterbacks

So, let’s state the obvious… when betting on the Super Bowl, the MVP generally goes to the quarterback of the winning team. It takes a truly special performance to change that. The current reigning Super Bowl MVP is Patriots receiver, Julian Edelman. He had just such a performance in 2019’s Super Bowl. Edelman won the award despite being +2000 to win it before the game, so it can happen.

It is quite a rare occurrence, however. After quarterback, the next logical place to look would theoretically be running back, but it hasn’t shaken out that way. The last running back to win the Super Bowl MVP award was Terrell Davis in 1998, and he was so incredibly dominant that giving the award to anyone else would have been ludicrous. Four wide receivers have won the award since Davis hoisted it in 1998. Defensive players, however, are another story.

How Many Defensive Players Have Won The Super Bowl MVP?

Defensive players, one would think, have an even lower chance to win the award. However, over the years, several defensive players have won the Super Bowl MVP. The most recent was Broncos linebacker Von Miller, who turned in a dominating performance in Super Bowl 50 as a pass rusher. Since 2000, four defensive players have won the award: Baltimore Ravens linebacker Ray Lewis, Tampa Bay Buccaneers safety Dexter Jackson, Seattle Seahawks linebacker Malcolm Smith, and Miller.

Best Sites for Betting on the Super Bowl
Bovada Sportsbook
  • 50%
  • up to
  • $250
BetOnline Sportsbook
  • 50%
  • up to
  • $1,000
MyBookie Sportsbook
  • 250%
  • up to
  • $1,000
Sportsbetting Sportsbook
  • 50%
  • up to
  • $1,000
Xbet Sportsbook
  • 100%
  • up to
  • $300
BookMaker Sportsbook
  • 50%
  • up to
  • $1,000
BetDSI Sportsbook
  • 100%
  • up to
  • $500